Drinking: How to pace yourself, girl!

Before you read this post, I ought to cover my back to make sure you aren’t:

  1. Underage drinking (lol)
  2. Driving and/or operating heavy machinery.


On Friday, I finished school. Finally! This was, of course, a cause for celebration. And when you’re 18, celebration=booze. We were partying the night before, and about to do it all over again.

We must have started drinking that day at about 12.30. The AS-level students were cooking us a BBQ, and we were drinking cider. I had one pint, drank it slowly and mingled. It was VERY hot, and didn’t want to feel nasty too quickly, or make a fool of myself (a common side-effect of mine on alcohol) around the teachers. About an hour later, my friends and I made our way to the pub for our afternoon party, a fifteen minute walk away. Getting some fresh air was good for keeping well.

At the pub, I started off on perry (pear cider) which was very sweet and had a reasonably low alcohol percentage. With cider and beer, the percentage tends to be between 3-5.5%. The higher the percentage, the quicker you are going to get drunk. I tend to go with something 4.5% or lower, as I can enjoy my tipsy state for longer. I had a couple of pints of perry, before someone suggested I try a cider called Ashton Press. It was really nice, and again not to strong. It was probably not a bad idea to stay on that, because the people who were drinking Desperados (beer with tequila) were pretty wrecked VERY quickly.

Clockwise from bottom left: Kacey, Steve, Tom, Eddy, Cerian, Mary, Lewis, Emma, and me, as the cat.

After the pub, my friends and I went to Tesco’s to buy booze before going back to mine. We bought Sourz Fusions, Pina Colada, Everyday Value Vodka (70cl for £8!) and cider for the boys. We came back to mine, where we ate pizza and pasta bake. Stodgy food is a good foundation for booze as it stops you getting sick. We drank A LOT then, and got pretty silly. We played a few games, danced a bit, and then got ready for the final part of the day: the club.

The club our leavers’ party was at was called Capones, a pretty cheesy place with a zebra print ceiling. I had a lot of fun dancing, had some Smirnoff Ice, danced some more, then went outside with a few people to tell them how much I “appreciated” them. According to my friends, when I’m drunk, appreciating someone=sticking my tongue down their throat (whether they want it there or not) and sitting on their lap. Woops. Oh well, at least I wasn’t ill.

The two Matts, clubbin’ it up!

I could tell I’d had enough of Capones when my feet were starting to become unbearably sore in my fabulous ’90s-style platform sandals. My mum picked me up (I don’t know what time it was, but it was definitely after 4) and I had a couple of pints of water before going to bed. Waking up the next day, my feet were sore, my legs were sore, but my head wasn’t. I was tired, but definitely not ill.

And that is how you pace yourself! Remember guys, drink responsibly!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

